Month: January 2014

  • M.I.M.E.

    This stupid SOB….
    MOTH!

    I had seen it earlier in the evening, flying around the tv. It wasn’t annoying at first, since it only flew across the tv once. After the second time, I intended to kill it, but I couldn’t find the fly swatter, so I just let it be. NEVER AGAIN….

    So I just continued to sit in the la-z-boy, watching tv, minding my own freakin’ business. Then outta nowhere, there was a buzzing around my left ear, like a fly or whatever was flying around it, so I did the usually knee-jerk reaction and flailed my left hand around my ear to shoo it away. But then I heard the buzzing INSIDE my ear….commence panic mode in 3, 2, 1….

    I ran upstairs to the shower and tried to flush it out with a showerhead. No workie. How could I tell? I could hear it trying to spread its wings and fly but can’t. It’s a crazy sound & feeling that I can’t accurately describe with words, but trust me, it’s freakin’ nerve racking. So then I tried to drown it my submerging my head in water. But no, apparently moth’s don’t mind a little water.

    Then I woke up my parents for assistance (it was around midnight and they were sleeping already). My mom tried the ear wax kit thing (the bulb thingy), but that didn’t work either. So then I try sucking it out with a vacuum. At first, I thought I got it cause I couldn’t hear it anymore, but didn’t see anything in vacuum bin, and after a little while I heard it again.

    So at this point, I’m in a calm panic. I’m not freaking out, but every 30 seconds or so, the stupid moth tries to fly out, and I grow increasingly worried that it may be trying to eat my eardrum and I may have permanent hearing loss, which I was thinking would be one of the stupidest ways to lose your hearing, as well as hella embarassing. So I decided to go to the emergency room. I drove myself, and the entire drive there, I was shaking my head (more in disappointment) and thinking “this is soo stupid….this is SOO stupid…..”. Why would a moth fly into my ear? Why, moth, why? And really, it’s too big to straight up fly in there, it had land on my earlobe and then crawl/walk into my ear canal. Who does that?!?! Really, moth?!

    It wasn’t busy at all for a Friday night, and I was seen by a nurse almost immediately. Maybe 20 minutes in, the doctor showed up. He said when someone says there’s something in their ear, most of the time there isn’t. So he gets out the ear canal checking thingy, puts the longest scope/cap or whatever on it, and then pressed it into my ear really hard, to the point that it was hurting, and he was silent for maybe a minute or so. I had to break the silence, cause I wanted to know, and it was hurting, so I asked if he saw anything, and he was like “Yeaup, I see him. He’s in there, trying to move……”

    He said they were going to irrigate it out and called for a nurse to do it. They brought out a syringe, water, and a catch tray, filled the syringe with water, and then shot it into my ear. It was like a high pressure water gun. It took 2 tries, but the mofo finally came out. The nurse was hella excited and went to go show it to the doctor. Amazingly enough, it was still alive, as it was still trying to flap its wings, but now could fly because the water had made its wings to heavy maybe? So the nurse killed it with a paper towel. The doctor came back to check me out, and other than “wing dust” in my ear, I was all good.

    So now I have a fear of moths, or any flying insects, flying into my ears. Stupid freakin’ moths…This is why I should just stay up in Sac.