Day: June 11, 2012

  • Thanks, nurse....

    It was bound to happen sooner or later. I have been giving blood twice a year going on my 4th year now, and every time, it's been a good experience. Or in other words, no mis-stabs, mis-pricks, mis-anythings. Every time, they were able to find & hit the vein cleanly. You can probably see where I'm going with this. Well, I donated blood on Saturday, and it totally was not like all the other times. The nurse, which I believe did me last time I was there, kind of hesitated when she stuck me with the "whatever you call it.....the thingy with the big needle". And I could tell something wasn't right cause it felt weird, and I had never had felt that before. So she calls 2 other nurses over, they check it out, give it the "no-go", then try on my other arm (right). One of the other nurses does it this time, no hesitation, and all was good. So they had to wrap both my arms in tape afterwards, and I kinda looked weird, and I had to explain it to just about everyone I saw. I wish I took a picture.

    So the next day, I take off the wrap on my left arm, the one they messed up on, and now it looks like this:

    Blood pool at the surface & bruising underneath the skin. It doesn't hurt, but I can definitely feel it. Depending on what my left arm is doing, I can feel it more (twss). Still have one of the 3 pen marks that the nurse made to target the vein. Psshh...hella didn't work. I guess 1 out of 7 times isn't too bad. They better not mess up again when I go back in December. If they do, I'll probably stop donating.