May 20, 2013

  • This Can Go Only One of Two Ways

    So I had an interview on Friday for an open promotional position in my office. I was told there were 3 other interview-ees. I think I did well. The 3 interviewers were people I know and work with, so I felt comfortable talking to them. I wasn’t really that nervous at all. I was super antsy the hours before the interview. I was just anxious to get it over with than anything.

    I feel like my body of work thus far has proven that I deserve this promotion. The feedback from everyone that I work with and for all indicate that I deserve this promotion. The lead interviewer told me straight up “this position has your name written all over it”. If I somehow do not get this promotion, I can not take it any other way than personally. I will feel slighted, wronged, etc., and will go into silent rage spite mode. I will put the “it’s ok” face on and act like it’s all good, while applying for any & all positions in all the other departments/offices. I won’t do anything evil to the system that I support, because well, I’m not evil. But I totally could.

    So in a few weeks, or however long it takes for them to make a decision, I’m hoping that I’ll be in a happy place, a higher pay grade, and receiving congratulations from other coworkers. If not, they will learn that spite is one hell of a motivator.