Day: November 15, 2012

  • Louis CK Live

    My face is sore from smiling & laughing for about 2 hours straight. Totally worth it. And to think, this almost didn't happen, multiple times. Just another example of how things happen to work out for the best in the end.**

    Had time to kill before the show, and I walked by city hall, and it looked nice, so I took a pic.

    View from the nosebleed section. It was still cool, don't really need to see the comic perform. Louis CK doesn't do a lot of physical comedy.

    We couldn't take any pics of the comics on-stage (there was 1 opening act), because the pre-show announcer, who also happened to be the opening act, comically warned everyone to not take any pics during the show, more or less promising public shame to anyone who did.

    The show was amazing. The opening act, apparently Louis CK's best friend, was funny. And Louis CK brought his A-game, as expected. I don't remember the specifics of everything, but he bits about how putting on socks is the most difficult thing ever, how being 45 is the perfect age because you don't HAVE to do anything you're told, and then his "of course......but maybe" bit was hilarious. Kind of wrong, but still hella funny. I am really glad that I went to this show. It was soo totally worth it.

    It did feel weird going by myself. Everyone else seemed to be with someone. And then waiting around before the show, by myself, was felt weird. But all that went away as soon as the show started.

    ** How it almost didn't happen
    Louis CK did this thing where he bypassed ticket retailers & the box office and just sold the tickets himself directly on the website for 1 flat fee, no BS fees or anything. Every seat was the same price, $45. Tickets went on sale for the 4 SF shows some time in June. I wanted to go with Kev cause he's also a fan, so I sent him a link to get a ticket. I got my ticket, but he couldn't get his cause it sold out. Right then, I thought maybe I should just sell my ticket cause I don't want to go alone. But then I didn't cause I thought maybe he could get a ticket somehow later.

    I got the 1st ticket that was available to buy, and it was for the 10pm show on the first night, Wednesday Nov 14. Great, in the middle of the week. I was planning on taking the following day off cause that drive back would've been insane (show ended at 12am, about 2 hour drive back to Sac). But I had to hope that I didn't have any important meetings scheduled for that Thursday, but it was tough to plan since I bought the ticket in June for the show in November. Well, November rolls through, and I had 2 meetings scheduled for that Thursday. Son of a B. So then I think, man I'm really shouldn't go to the show, cause I'd be back in Sac around 2am, and then be hella tired at my meetings. But I didn't sell my ticket, hoping things would work out.

    Lucky me, things did happen to work out. Those 2 meetings ended up getting cancelled. So I used my monthly PLP (personal leave program) day off for that Thursday, which I also used a day to review for the promotional exam that I was scheduled to take the next day in Oakland, which I really needed. If I didn't review, I would've been sooo screwed for that exam. So it all worked out in the end.

    **end story