January 22, 2013

  • Glide & 4th St Bar & Grill

    Volunteered at Glide again. This time, I worked the food assembly line, putting steamed carrots onto the food trays. It was ok, better than last time when I had to work the seating area clearing tables. And I think the local chinese foreign exchange student program has a deal with OneBrick or something, because the last couple of times that I've volunteered, I met someone who just moved from China to study here. Not complaining, just saying. It's kind of interesting to hear what they think and how they feel about living in the bay area.

    I had signed up a month ahead, so I had no idea that the Niners would be playing at the same time (shift is from 11:15am - 1:30pm, Niner game at 12pm). So around 12:30-12:45 we ask someone to give us an update on the game. None of us could check for ourselves cause we were wearing gloves & serving hot food. When they said it was 17-0 Falcons, everyone got hella dejected. Right when our shift ended, I walked over to the Union Square Sports Bar just in time to see the Niners give up another touchdown right before halftime to make it 24-14. The bar was at full capacity, so there was a big crowd outside the (open double-door) watching the game. Since we can't drink (alcohol) outside, I walked over to the 4th St Bar & Grill. There were hella people there too, but at least they were letting people in still, and I didn't mind the standing room only as long as I had a beer. Soo, soo, soo many Niner fans. The chefs in the kitchen area would start the chants/cheering by banging metal pans together. Kinda crazy. The last couple of minutes were nail-biting, but the Niners pulled out the victory, and the place went nuts. I think that one guy in the bottom picture is crying.

    Helping feed the hungry and watching the Niners advance to the Super Bowl. It was a good Sunday.