January 28, 2013

  • SF Food Bank / Workout for the Week

    So, I volunteered at the SF Food Bank for the 1st time in a long while, since OneBrick hasn't had any on the weekends for that long. Last time we bagged rice. This time, we boxed up squash. Fun.

    The bins of squash, maybe 12-15 total:

    They broke down the labor into three parts:

    1.) The box makers:

    2.) The box fillers:

    3.) The back breakers pallet stackers:

    Make box, fill box with squash, stack full box of squash onto pallet nicely. And repeat.

    Of course they chose me to literally do the heavy lifting. I would take the full box, close the top, then stack it on the pallet. The nice people would close the top of the box when they were done. The nicer people would do that AND carry the full box over to me. I'll just say there weren't a lot of nice people there today.

    And then there was this one lady who was just a pain and I swear, she didn't get that the box had to close so that it would stack properly on the pallets. Just about each one of her boxes, I had to take 2 or 3 squash out to close the box. But she was probably the fastest one to fill the box, though. Then we had her exact opposite, who was really slow, lining up the squash into rows so they're all nice, and then making sure that the box would actually close.

    We boxed 17,000 pounds of squash. I lifted maybe half of it. I am still sore. I will never complain about the rice bagging again (I do the heavy lifting there too, but it's still way less than this stupid squash).