November 5, 2012

  • Architecture 101

    Just finished watching the korean romance movie Architecture 101. It's basically a movie about first love. The 2 two main characters first meet in an architecture class in their first year of college, and then maybe 15 years later they happen to see each other again, so it switches from present to past to explain how they came to know each other. I'm not quite sure how I feel about the movie yet, but I was sad at the end, and that made me mad (and I'm not even sure that's rational), so I can't make a clear cut judgement on it yet. It may be because the movie kind of hit close to home, as I am close to the same age as the main character and a had a similar experience with a girl I met in my first year of college, so it invoked a bunch of old memories, memories that I hadn't thought about in a long time. I can't really put it into my own words, so I'm going to quote someone's review of the movie:

    "Love is timing. It's not just about having feelings for each other, timing also matters. Some fall in love and lose it because the timing is just not right. And sometimes, that right 'timing' never comes. That is reality, it's not always a happy ending. But of course, first love is always precious. You cannot turn back time and sometimes it is just not possible for you to reconcile, but memories of that love will always be remembered."

    Yeaup, it's all about timing...